AHHHH – SPRING

Finally – the days are starting to catch up to the nights out here in sunny So. Cal. As you already know, I could easily live without losing Daylight Savings Time and be a really Happy Camper!
This is the year I decided that gardening was no longer going to be the chore of the century! My back has decided to go out without me, so I’m not bending like I used to.
A couple of months ago I saw a picture on the internet of a “wall garden” and it got me thinking. So I had my Son, Kyle, haul me over to Home Depot in his pick-up. (the better to load up, my dear!) and bought some lengths of vinyl rain gutters and some 2/4′s. I attached the 2/4′s to the back fence and then attached the rain gutters at my waist height. Drilled holes in the bottom of the gutters, every 6 inches or so and lined the bottom with narrow strips of window screening. Then I filled the gutters with lots of high quality potting soil and planted onions, spinach, chives, radishes and lettuce. Then I planted a couple of types of tomato plants in big containers, fertilized everything and watered almost daily.

A little sweat, and not done yet!


My salad planting seems to be going well so far – I’ll keep you posted!

About katzpawz

Rabid Reader, devoted Christian, love crafting, cooking, sewing, watching the owls on the internet, movies, feeding my loved ones and generally enjoying my life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

